Travel within the Schengen area

What you should do

Information about the free movement of persons within the Schengen area in Europe can be found here.

Schengen Agreement

The Schengen Agreement governs the free movement of persons within European member states. This means that regular border checks no longer occur. However, under current law, people travelling within the Schengen area (including children and infants) must be able to identify themselves at all times and must carry the relevant travel documents (such as an ID card or a passport) to enable them to do.

Driving licences, bank and credit cards or similar documents will not be accepted as valid travel documents or as proof of identity.

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland