Elections to the Board at the SWISS General Meeting

22 April 2005

In view of the planned acquisition of Swiss International Air Lines Ltd. by Deutsche Lufthansa AG, it is envisaged that the present SWISS Board of Directors will be reduced in size and its members will be newly elected later in the 2005 business year. It is further envisaged that the present Board of Directors will remain in office until such time.

The Board of Directors will therefore propose to the Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of May 19, 2005 that the current Board mandates of Pieter Bouw, Claudio Generali, Jacques Aigrain, Michael Pieper and Peter Siegenthaler be extended by one year. The current periods of office of Walter Bosch and Jan Audun Reinas will expire in 2006, while that of Rolf Jetzer will expire in 2007.

The invitation to attend the 2005 Ordinary General Meeting was sent to the company’s shareholders today, together with the meeting agenda.