New SWISS Board of Directors elected

22 September 2005

The SWISS Board of Directors has been newly elected at an Extraordinary General Meeting. The election also saw the Board reduced as planned from eight to five members.

The SWISS Board of Directors is being reduced in size from eight to five members in view of SWISS’s integration into the Lufthansa Group. The Board has now been resized and its members newly elected at an Extraordinary General Meeting which was held today. Previous Board members Pieter Bouw, Claudio Generali, Michael Pieper, Jan Audun Reinas and Peter Siegenthaler have retired from the Board.

Previous Board members Jacques Aigrain, Walter Bosch and Rolf Jetzer stood for election and were duly elected for a further term of office. Newly elected to the Board are Wolfgang Mayrhuber and Klaus G. Schlede, who will serve as Lufthansa’s representatives.

The five members of the new SWISS Board of Directors have been elected for an ordinary term of office of three years. Following the Extraordinary General Meeting, the new Board will meet to elect a Chairman from its ranks. Rolf Jetzer is envisaged for the post.

The Extraordinary General Meeting was held in the “Messehalle” in Basel. It was attended by 53 shareholders, representing 99.4 per cent of share capital. The meeting lasted one hour. The election of the new Board of Directors was the main item on the agenda.